Our network


Fulton County Board of Commissioners Swearing-In Ceremony

Fulton County Board of Commissioners Swearing-In Ceremony

Atlanta, GA--  The Fulton County Board of Commissioners took their oath of office this morning at a ceremony that was open to the public at the Fulton County Government Center's Assembly Hall.

Fulton County is governed by a 7-member Board of Commissioners. Five commissioners are elected by geographic district and two are elected countywide, including the chair.

The board consists of:

John H. Eaves, Chairman, District 1 (at-large)

Robert L. “Robb” Pitts, District 2 (at-large)

Liz Hausmann, District 3

Tom Lowe, District 4

Emma I. Darnell, District 5

Joan P. Garner, District 6

William “Bill” Edwards, District 7

Street Name Changes--Hearings for the Public

Atlanta, GA--  (submitted by FourthWard Alliance)

SUBJECT: Street Name Change Meetings

Please be advised of the upcoming meetings regarding the "recommended" street name changes of Harris Street and Cone Street as shown in the legislation for discussion below:

City Utilities Committee: On Tuesday, December 14th at 10:00am, in Committee Room 2. Physical Address: 55 Trinity Avenue, 2nd Floor – Atlanta, Georgia).

Urban Design Commission: On Wednesday, December 15th at 4:00pm, in Council Chamber. Physical Address: 55 Trinity Avenue, 2nd Floor – Atlanta, Georgia).

Special Called Meeting: On Thursday, December 16th at 10:00am, in Council Chamber. Physical Address: 55 Trinity Avenue , 2nd Floor – Atlanta, Georgia).


Legislation for Discussion: 

10-O-1981 An Ordinance by Councilmembers Kwanza Hall, Michael J. Bond, H. Lamar Willis, Aaron Watson, Ivory L.

Fulton County Runoff Elections on Nov. 30th. Early Voting Ends 11/24

Atlanta, GA--  The Fulton County Board of Registration and Elections will hold a runoff election in four political races on Tuesday, November 30, 2010. Fulton County voters will be asked to select a candidate for Fulton County Superior Court Judge, State Supreme Court Justice and State Court of Appeals Judge. In addition, voters in Johns Creek will be asked to vote in a runoff election for City Council Post 5.

Advance voting for the runoff election will be available from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

3-Wheeled PediCabs May be Coming to Atlanta Soon

Atlanta, GA--  Atlanta Could Join Austin, New York City, Boston and San Francisco in use of new Transportation Mode.  Atlanta City Councilmember Kwanza Hall introduced legislation authorizing the operation of pedicabs within the city of Atlanta.

Early Voting Locations Announced

Atlanta, GA--  Early voting for the General Election begins Monday, September 20, 2010 at three locations: Fulton County Government Center (141 Pryor Street, SW Atlanta, GA 30303), Fulton County North Annex (7741 Roswell Road, Sandy Springs 30350), and the South Fulton Annex (5600 Stonewall Tell Road, College Park, GA 30349) from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Voters can cast their ballots at three additional locations beginning Monday, October 18, 2010. Those locations are: Adamsville Recreation Center (3201 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Atlanta, GA 30311), Ocee Branch Library (5090 Abbots Bridge Road, Johns Creek, GA 30005) and Roswell Branch Library (115 Norcross Street, Roswell, GA 30075).

Advance voting for the General Election will be held at all six locations listed above beginning Monday, October 25, 2010 through Friday, October 29, 2010 from 8:30 a.m.